CS MENTORS – IAS Academy : Call 88222 99444

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

The 13th century Ramappa temple in Palampet, Telangana was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site recently.

Dholavira site of the Indus Valley civilization also has been declared as UNESCO World heritage site

World Heritage Sites in India:

There are 40 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in India. The sites are broken down into Cultural sites (32 in India), Nature Sites (7 in India) and Mixed sites (1 in India).

Cultural Sites (32)

  1. Agra Fort (1983),Uttar Pradesh
  2. Ajanta Caves (1983),Maharashtra
  3. Archaeological Site of Nalanda Mahavihara at Nalanda, Bihar (2016)
  4. Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi (1989), Madhya Pradesh
  5. Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park (2004),Gujarat
  6. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus) (2004), Maharashtra
  7. Churches and Convents of Goa (1986)
  8. Elephanta Caves (1987), Maharashtra
  9. Ellora Caves (1983), Maharashtra
  10. Fatehpur Sikri (1986), Uttar Pradesh
  11. Great Living Chola Temples (1987,2004), Tamilnadu
  12. Group of Monuments at Hampi (1986),Karnataka
  13. Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram (1984), Tamilnadu
  14. Group of Monuments at Pattadakal (1987), Karnataka
  15. Hill Forts of Rajasthan (2013)
  16. Historic City of Ahmedabad (2017), Gujarat
  17. Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi (1993)
  18. Jaipur City, Rajasthan (2019)
  19. Khajuraho Group of Monuments (1986), Madhya Pradesh
  20. Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya (2002), Bihar
  21. Mountain Railways of India Darjeeling,(1999), Nilgiri (2005), Kalka-Shimla(2008)
  22. Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi (1993)
  23. Rani-ki-Vav (the Queen’s Stepwell) at Patan, Gujarat (2014)
  24. Red Fort Complex (2007), Delhi
  25. Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka (2003), Madhya Pradesh
  26. Sun Temple, Konârak (1984), Odisha
  27. Taj Mahal (1983), Uttar Pradesh
  28. The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement (2016), Chandigarh
  29. The Jantar Mantar, Jaipur (2010), Rajasthan
  30. Victorian Gothic and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai (2018), Maharashtra
  31. Ramappa Temple(2021), Telangana
  32. Harappan city of Dholavira(2021), Gujrat

Natural Sites (7)

  1. Great Himalayan National Park Conservation Area (2014), Himachal Pradesh
  2. Kaziranga National Park (1985), Assam
  3. Keoladeo National Park (1985), Rajasthan
  4. Manas Wildlife Sanctuary (1985), Assam
  5. Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks (1988,2005), Uttarakhand
  6. Sundarbans National Park (1987), West Bengal
  7. Western Ghats (2012), Karnataka,Kerala,Tamilnadu, Maharashtra

Mixed Site (1)

  1. Khangchendzonga National Park (2016), Sikkim

Ramappa temple

The Ramalingeswara Temple which is popularly known as the Ramappa temple dates back to 1213 AD, was built by the patronage of the Kakatiya ruler Ganapathi Deva under the authority of his Chief Commander Recherla Rudra at the place known as Ranakude in the Atukuru province.

The temple is known for its unique features like ‘floating bricks’, sandbox foundations and exquisite carvings. The foundation is built with the “sandbox technique”, the flooring is granite and the pillars basalt.

Dholavira site

The IVC (Indus Valley Civilisation) city is located on a hillock near present-day Dholavira village in Kutch district. It was discovered in 1968 by archaeologist Jagat Pati Joshi.

Dholavira is the fifth largest metropolis of IVC. It comes after Mohen-jo-Daro, Ganweriwala and Harappa in Pakistan and Rakhigarhi in Haryana of India.

The site has a fortified citadel, a middle town and a lower town. There are walls made of sandstone or limestone instead of mud bricks in many other Harappan sites. Unlike graves at other IVC sites, no mortal remains of humans have been discovered at Dholavira.

It was also a hub of manufacturing jewellery made of shells and semi-precious stones, like agate. Dholavira also used to export timber.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO)

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization is a specialised agency of the United Nations (UN) based in Paris, France which was formed in 1946

Its purpose is to contribute to peace and security by promoting international collaboration through education, science, culture and communication.

UNESCO has 193 member countries (including India) and it pursues its objectives through five major programs: education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, and communication and information.

World Heritage Site

A World Heritage Site is a landmark or area, selected by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) for having cultural, historical, scientific or other form of significance, which is legally protected by international treaties. The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage is an international agreement that was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO in 1972 is related to the UNESCO heritage sites.


Enquiry Form

    Write To Us