CS MENTORS – IAS Academy : Call 88222 99444

Seekho aur Kamao Scheme

The ‘Seekho Aur Kamao’ scheme has met its target of earmarking 33% of the total trained beneficiaries for female beneficiaries.

The overall percentage of females trained under the scheme since its inception is 56.59%. This means that the scheme has surpassed the prescribed norm of 33% reservation for female beneficiaries.

The Seekho aur Kamao (Learn & Earn) Scheme is a 100% Central Sector Scheme for “Skill Development of Minorities“, which is implemented from 12th Five Year Plan.

The aim of this scheme is to upgrade the skills of minority youth (age group of 14-35 years) and ensure 75% placements, out of which 50% should be in the organized sector.

The minimum qualification of trainee should be at least Class V.

Post placement support of Rs. 2000/- per month is provided to placed trainees for two months as placement assistance.

Objectives of the Scheme

To conserve and update modern and traditional skills of minorities and establish their linkages with JOB market.

To improve employability of existing workers, school dropouts etc, and to generate means of better livelihood for marginalized minorities.

The scheme will aim at upgrading the skills of the minority youths in various modern/traditional vocations depending upon the

  • Educational qualification of the minority youths,
  • Present economic trends and
  • The market potential, which can earn them a suitable employment or make them suitably skilled to go for self employment.


This scheme is implemented by the Ministry of Minority Affairs (MoMA) through selected Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs).

National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) has been assigned for the implementation of Seekho aur Kamao scheme for union territories of J&K and Ladakh.

The pattern of funding and course will be as per the common norms issued by the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.


The scheme will be implemented for the benefit of the 6 notified minority communities under National Commission for Minorities Act 1992.

The six minority communities are Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Parsis and Jains.

However, in the States/UTs where some other minority communities notified by respective State/UT Governments exist, they may also be considered but they will not occupy more than 5% of the total seats.

The scheme can be taken up anywhere in the country but preference will be given to organizations that impart training and propose the program for identified minority concentration districts/ towns/ blocks.


Enquiry Form

    Write To Us